EGR Valve Internal Repair - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > Problems and Troubleshooting

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2009, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default EGR Valve Internal Repair

As I wrote in a previous tread “Do not use WD-40 to clean the EGR Valve” I still support this theory. Sorry if I repeat myself, however I would like to summarize my knowledge and experience. Hopefully someone will be able to benefit or at least understand how the EGR Valve performs. Couple of months back as a newbie I had the bad experience using WD- 40 as a solution to my jerkiness as we all experience at one point in our Insights. All I did read was buying a new one or cleaning/soaking the EGR valve in WD- 40 for over a night. I truly believe this is NOT the solution to our problem, instead it might worsen the hesitation of the car due to the oily stuff that WD- 40 contains. Once the WD-40 penetrates into the potentiometer /pot/ inside the valve /the top black plastic part/ that’s were the problem gets worsen. In the following FIVE steps I tried to explain how to clean or repair the EGR Valve.

First step Clean EGR Plate
Second step Soak EGR Valve
Third step Open Repair EGR Valve
Forth step Open Repair EGR Valve / cutting the wipe by 5mm/
Fifth step Drilling A Hole / update on the hole/

FIRST: